Cognitive Support
Cognitive Support is built around L-theanine and caffeine — the pairing a controlled trial showed improved both the speed and the accuracy of attention-switching against placebo — plus eight more actives for memory, mental energy and performance under stress. Ten actives in total, named on the label: niacin (8mg NE) and vitamin B6 (5mg) carry their own milligram amounts, and the other eight — GABA, L-tyrosine, caffeine, bacopa monnieri, phosphatidylserine, alpha GPC, L-theanine and huperzine A — sit together in a 255mg proprietary blend rather than each having its own number.
Evidence reviewed: September 2026.
- The Alpha GPC trial's two null results (Flanker and N-Back, both non-significant) were omitted. They are stated above.
- The L-theanine/caffeine trial was described as “outperforming caffeine alone.” It never tested that comparison — every arm was compared with placebo.
- Bacopa, Alpha GPC and L-theanine were each cited at trial doses that are larger than this product's entire 255mg eight-ingredient blend. We were implying a studied dose we cannot be delivering. Each section now says so.
- GABA and huperzine A were described as “a small, targeted dose of each.” Those amounts are not disclosed to us, so that was not ours to claim.
Separately, the vitamin B6 upper intake limit cited here was out of date: EFSA cut it from 25mg to 12mg a day in 2023. The figure is corrected and the “headroom” language with it.
What's in it, and why
Bacopa monnieri — studied in multiple human trials for memory and information processing, though it takes weeks of consistent use to show up, not days. A 2014 meta-analysis (Kongkeaw et al., J Ethnopharmacol) included nine randomised placebo-controlled trials in 518 subjects, and pooled 437 of them: choice reaction time fell by 10.6ms (95% CI −12.1 to −9.2, p<0.001) and Trail B completion by 17.9ms (95% CI −24.6 to −11.2, p<0.001). Those are small, real effects on speed of attention, not memory. Two things to hold alongside them: the review only admitted trials dosing continuously for 12 weeks or longer, and it used standardised extracts at 300–450mg a day — more than this product's entire 255mg blend, which that extract shares with seven other actives. The authors' own conclusion was that only a large head-to-head trial against an existing medication will settle Bacopa's efficacy. Read the full evidence breakdown →
Alpha GPC — a choline compound tested in a 2024 randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled crossover trial (Nutrients) in 20 resistance-trained men, where a single dose improved Stroop total score against placebo at both 630mg (p=0.013) and 315mg (p=0.046). The same trial found no significant difference on either of its other two cognitive tests, the Flanker and the N-Back — and it measured one acute dose, not weeks of use. Both doses it tested also exceed this product's entire 255mg blend, so Alpha GPC here is present at well under the studied amount. Phosphatidylserine, a phospholipid studied mainly in older adults for everyday memory function, rounds out this pair. How Alpha GPC works →
L-Theanine + Caffeine — the combination most studied for calm, sustained focus rather than a jittery spike. In a placebo-controlled crossover trial of 27 adults (Owen et al., 2008), a 50mg caffeine + 100mg L-theanine combination improved both speed and accuracy of attention-switching at 60 minutes versus placebo, and reduced susceptibility to distraction. Caffeine alone improved attention-switching accuracy too, at 90 minutes. The trial compared each treatment with placebo rather than testing the combination against caffeine head-to-head, so it does not establish that one beats the other. Note also that 100mg of L-theanine plus 50mg of caffeine would be most of this product's 255mg blend, which holds six further actives — so the amounts here are lower than the trial's. The calm-focus combo, explained →
L-Tyrosine — supports mental performance specifically under fatigue or stress. Why it's here →
GABA & Huperzine A — both are named on the label inside the 255mg blend. We won't describe either as a “small” or “targeted” dose, because the individual amounts aren't disclosed to us and we cannot verify them. Huperzine A's mechanism →
Niacin (8mg NE) & Vitamin B6 (5mg) — support the normal energy-yielding metabolism your brain runs on. These two are the only actives individually dosed on the label.
A note on vitamin B6, and why we're spelling it out. B6 appears on this label at 290% of the Daily Value, which looks alarming and isn't: the Daily Value reference for B6 is just 1.7mg, so 5mg clears it several times over while still sitting under the published safety limits — the European Food Safety Authority set a tolerable upper intake of 12mg a day in 2023 (revised down from 25mg), and the US Food and Nutrition Board sets 100mg. We call it out because B6 is the one ingredient in this formula with a genuine dose-dependent risk at sustained high intakes: long-term high-dose B6 can cause peripheral neuropathy, and cases have been reported at or near the lower of those two limits. What matters is your total daily intake from everything you take. Sleep Support contains a further 1.8mg, so both together come to 6.8mg a day — inside both limits, but that is about 57% of the EFSA figure, so it is not a lot of headroom. If you also take a B-complex, a multivitamin, an energy supplement or a separate B6 tablet, add ours to that total rather than counting it on its own. Why B6 is on our list of neuropathy causes worth finding →
A note on disclosure, stated plainly: niacin and B6 are individually dosed and labeled. The other eight actives — GABA, L-tyrosine, caffeine, bacopa monnieri, phosphatidylserine, alpha GPC, L-theanine and huperzine A — are combined in a 255mg proprietary blend on our supplier's stock formula. We asked our manufacturer directly in September 2026: individual milligram amounts for that blend are not available to publish, so this is not a gap we can close on the current formula, and we are not going to describe it as a timeline. One consequence worth being direct about: you cannot work out this product's caffeine dose from its label, so you cannot add it to a daily caffeine total. Of our range, only Sleep Formula discloses every per-ingredient dose. See the full ingredient-by-ingredient breakdown →
Why trust the label
All ten of Cognitive Support's actives are named on the ingredient panel — niacin and B6 with their own milligram amounts, the other eight inside a named 255mg proprietary blend rather than an unlisted mystery mix. That is better than a blend whose contents aren't listed at all, and it is worse than a label that prints every number; both halves of that are true. We ask our manufacturer for batch testing, and we have not published a certificate of analysis. And because a formula like this takes weeks of consistent use to fairly judge, it's covered by Proco's 90-day money-back guarantee — refunded within 90 days if it's not working for you, no forms, no hassle.
Common questions
Does it contain caffeine, and how much? Yes — caffeine is named on the label, but it sits inside the 255mg blend and its exact per-capsule dose is not disclosed and cannot be published (see the note above). We compared common caffeine sources here →
How long before I notice anything? The caffeine/L-theanine/L-tyrosine combination is typically felt same-day; Bacopa's memory effects build over weeks. Full timeline →
Is 290% Daily Value of B6 a problem? No — that's 5mg, against an upper intake limit of 12mg a day (EFSA, 2023) or 100mg (US). It's worth watching your total across everything you take, which is the reason we print the number. More on B6 and nerve symptoms →
Is the capsule vegan? No. Cognitive Support uses a gelatin capsule. Of our range, Sleep Support and Magnesium Glycinate use vegetable capsules; Sleep Formula is gelatin and Omega-3 is a gelatin softgel containing fish. The full breakdown →
Is it safe with ADHD medication or antidepressants? Worth checking first — some ingredients here can interact, and the undisclosed caffeine dose is exactly why that conversation matters. ADHD medication interactions → · Antidepressant & other interactions →
Ingredients: Niacin (as niacinamide); Vitamin B6 (as pyridoxine hydrochloride); GABA (Gamma-Aminobutyric Acid), L-Tyrosine, Caffeine, Bacopa monnieri Extract (whole herb), Phosphatidylserine 20% (sunflower), Alpha GPC (Alpha-glycerylphosphorylcholine) Powder, L-Theanine, Huperzine A 1% (Huperzia serrata) (whole herb)
Other ingredients: Gelatin (capsule), Brown Rice Flour
Manufacturer's country: USA
Product amount: 30 capsules
Gross weight (oz/lbs/g): 1.76 oz / 0.11 lbs / 50 g
Suggested use: As a dietary supplement, adults take one (1) capsule daily. For best results, take with 6-8 oz of water or as directed by healthcare professional.
Warning: Do not exceed recommended dose. Pregnant or nursing mothers, children under the age of 18, and individuals with known medical conditions should consult a physician before using this or any dietary supplement. KEEP OUT OF THE REACH OF CHILDREN. DO NOT USE IF SAFETY SEAL IS DAMAGED OR MISSING. STORE IN A COOL, DRY PLACE.
*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.
