Proco vs. Onnit Alpha Brain: Ingredient-by-Ingredient

Proco vs. Onnit Alpha Brain — Ingredient-by-Ingredient

Onnit Alpha Brain packs most of its ingredients into three proprietary blends — Onnit Flow Blend (650mg), Onnit Focus Blend (240mg), and Onnit Fuel Blend (roughly 60mg) — and only two ingredients on the whole label carry an individually printed milligram amount: vitamin B6 (10mg) and Cat's Claw extract (350mg). Everything else on the label — L-tyrosine, L-theanine, oat straw extract, phosphatidylserine, Alpha GPC, Bacopa monnieri, Huperzine A, L-leucine, pterostilbene — is named but its individual amount inside its blend isn't disclosed. Proco's Cognitive Support has a similar structure for eight of its ten active ingredients: GABA, L-Tyrosine, Caffeine, Bacopa monnieri, Phosphatidylserine, Alpha GPC, L-Theanine, and Huperzine A sit inside a single 255mg proprietary blend, undosed individually — while Niacin and Vitamin B6 are listed and dosed individually, outside the blend. So as of today, none of those eight blended actives carry a stated milligram dose either. Seven ingredients appear on both labels: L-theanine, L-tyrosine, Alpha GPC, Bacopa monnieri, phosphatidylserine, Huperzine A, and vitamin B6. On the six blend ingredients, neither product currently states an individual dose, since both fold them into a proprietary blend; vitamin B6 is individually dosed on both labels. Full ingredient-by-ingredient breakdown below.

Evidence reviewed: September 2026.

What Alpha Brain's label actually shows

Alpha Brain (Onnit) ships 2 capsules per serving, 30 or 90 capsules per bottle ($79.95 for 90 count). Its label structure is the classic proprietary-blend format: three named blends, each with a total weight, and the ingredients inside listed by name only.

Ingredient / blend Disclosed amount
Vitamin B6 10 mg (standalone, disclosed)
Cat's Claw Extract (AC-11®) 350 mg (standalone, disclosed)
Onnit Flow Blend — L-Tyrosine, L-Theanine, Oat Straw extract, Phosphatidylserine 650 mg total (individual splits not disclosed)
Onnit Focus Blend — Alpha GPC, Bacopa monnieri extract, Huperzine A (from Huperzia serrata) 240 mg total (individual splits not disclosed)
Onnit Fuel Blend — L-Leucine, Pterostilbene ~60 mg total (individual splits not disclosed)

To be fair to Onnit: two ingredients on this label — vitamin B6 and Cat's Claw — are individually dosed and disclosed outside the blends. That's more standalone disclosure than a blend-only label would offer, and it's worth noting rather than skipping past. But seven of the nine named actives are inside a blend total with no individual split shown, which is the exact structure — name the ingredient, disclose only the group weight — that makes it impossible to know whether any one of them is present at a meaningful dose or a token amount.

Where Cognitive Support stands today, honestly

Cognitive Support ships 1 capsule per day, 30 capsules per bottle. It has one proprietary blend on its label — a 255mg blend covering 8 of its 10 actives — plus 2 actives (Niacin, Vitamin B6) listed and dosed individually, outside it:

Cognitive Support — 10 active ingredients (8 in a 255mg proprietary blend, 2 dosed individually):

Niacin (as niacinamide) · Vitamin B6 (as pyridoxine HCl) · GABA · L-Tyrosine · Caffeine · Bacopa monnieri Extract (whole herb) · Phosphatidylserine 20% (sunflower) · Alpha GPC Powder · L-Theanine · Huperzine A 1% (whole herb)

As of this writing, none of Cognitive Support's 8 blended actives carry a stated individual milligram dose — the same structural reason Alpha Brain's blended actives don't: both companies fold multiple ingredients into a proprietary blend that discloses only the combined total. Niacin and Vitamin B6, which sit outside Cognitive Support's blend, are already dosed and labeled individually — the same level of standalone disclosure Alpha Brain offers for vitamin B6 and Cat's Claw. Proco has said it's working toward disclosing individual amounts for the blend too, starting with GABA.

Whether it's Alpha Brain's three blends or Cognitive Support's one, a blend total can never be broken down further by a customer reading the label. An individually-listed ingredient without a dose yet at least has somewhere to go.

The seven shared ingredients

L-theanine, L-tyrosine, Alpha GPC, Bacopa monnieri, phosphatidylserine, Huperzine A, and vitamin B6 appear on both labels. Here's exactly where each one sits today:

Shared ingredient Alpha Brain Cognitive Support
L-Tyrosine Inside Flow Blend, undisclosed Inside Cognitive Support's 255mg blend, undosed
L-Theanine Inside Flow Blend, undisclosed Inside Cognitive Support's 255mg blend, undosed
Phosphatidylserine Inside Flow Blend, undisclosed Inside Cognitive Support's 255mg blend, undosed (20% sunflower)
Alpha GPC Inside Focus Blend, undisclosed Inside Cognitive Support's 255mg blend, undosed
Bacopa monnieri Inside Focus Blend, undisclosed Inside Cognitive Support's 255mg blend, undosed (whole herb extract)
Huperzine A Inside Focus Blend, undisclosed Inside Cognitive Support's 255mg blend, undosed (1% extract)
Vitamin B6 Standalone, disclosed (10 mg) Individually listed and dosed, outside the blend

Where they diverge

Alpha Brain includes three ingredients Cognitive Support doesn't: Cat's Claw extract (AC-11, 350mg disclosed), oat straw extract (inside Flow Blend), and the L-leucine/pterostilbene pairing in Fuel Blend. Cognitive Support includes three ingredients Alpha Brain's label doesn't: niacin, GABA, and caffeine — notably, Alpha Brain markets itself as a caffeine-free nootropic, so caffeine is a real formulation difference, not just a labeling one.

Recap: what's disclosed, side by side

  Onnit Alpha Brain Proco Cognitive Support
Ingredients named 9 (across 2 standalone + 3 blends) 10
Proprietary blend? Yes — 3 blends (Flow, Focus, Fuel) Yes — 1 blend, 255mg (8 of 10 ingredients)
Ingredients with a disclosed individual mg dose 2 of 9 (vitamin B6, Cat's Claw) 2 of 10 (today)
Contains caffeine? No Yes (undosed)
Capsules per serving 2 1

The honest read: both labels lean on a proprietary blend to fold several actives into one disclosed total — Alpha Brain across three blends covering most of its named actives, Cognitive Support across a single 255mg blend covering 8 of its 10. Cognitive Support discloses 2 of its 10 ingredients individually (Niacin, Vitamin B6), roughly matching Alpha Brain's 2 standalone actives (vitamin B6, Cat's Claw). Neither is there yet on full per-ingredient disclosure; they're just missing it in similar, blend-driven ways.

This isn't medical advice — talk to your doctor before starting any new supplement.

This article is for informational purposes only and has not been evaluated by the FDA. It is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

See Cognitive Support's full ingredient list at procohq.com.

Related reading: Inside Cognitive Support: What's Actually in the Blend.