Sleep Support is one of our most popular products, and we think it's a genuinely useful formula for a lot of people. It's also the least fully-disclosed label in our lineup, and we'd rather tell you that directly than let you find out from a forum post. This is an honest, ingredient-by-ingredient look at what's actually in Sleep Support, where the dosing holds up, and where it doesn't — including a couple of things we think you should know before you take it.
What's actually on the label
Sleep Support has two parts. The first is a set of individually-dosed ingredients, and here are their actual amounts per two-capsule serving: Vitamin B6 1.8mg, Calcium 17mg, Magnesium 13mg (as magnesium citrate), and Melatonin 10mg. Because these four are individually dosed, you know exactly what you're getting from each one — which is the point of printing them, even when the number is unflattering.
Two of those numbers deserve comment. The magnesium is 13mg. For context, the trials that have tested magnesium for sleep and stress use daily doses in the hundreds of milligrams — our own single-ingredient Magnesium Glycinate delivers 275mg of elemental magnesium per serving, more than twenty times what's in Sleep Support. If magnesium is the reason you're considering this product, it is the wrong product: 13mg is a formulation-level inclusion, not a functional dose, and we would rather say that than let "contains magnesium" do work it can't do. If you want to know what a magnesium shortfall actually looks like and how it's assessed, we cover that in signs of magnesium deficiency.
The second part of the label is a 905mg "proprietary blend" containing 14 ingredients: L-Tryptophan, Lycium (goji berry), Chamomile, Lemon Balm, Passion Flower, L-Taurine, Hops, St. John's Wort, GABA, Chinese Skullcap, L-Theanine, Ashwagandha, Inositol, and 5-HTP. The label shows the blend's total weight, not what each ingredient contributes to it. That's a legal and common practice in supplements, and if you want the general version of how to read one of these labels, we wrote a practical guide to proprietary blends and underdosing. What we can't do is promise you this particular blend's numbers later: our manufacturer confirmed in September 2026 that the per-ingredient amounts are not available to publish. Of our whole range, only Sleep Formula discloses every ingredient's individual dose, and that is a fact about how each product is manufactured, not a stage in a rollout.
The melatonin dose is higher than what most research supports
Ten milligrams of melatonin sounds modest next to some of the mega-dose gummies on shelves, but it's well above the range that sleep-onset research typically studies. A 2024 systematic review and dose-response meta-analysis in the Journal of Pineal Research pooled 26 double-blind randomized controlled trials published between 1987 and 2020 — 1,689 observations in total, in both people with insomnia and healthy volunteers — and found that melatonin gradually reduced sleep onset latency and increased total sleep time, peaking at 4mg/day.1 Its authors' practical suggestion was that 4mg taken around three hours before the desired bedtime might work better than the 2mg-thirty-minutes-before schedule most commonly used in practice — a finding about optimising a moderate dose, not a case for going higher. An earlier meta-analysis of primary sleep disorder trials similarly worked from doses generally in the 0.3mg to 5mg range.2 The NIH's National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health notes that at doses above what the body normally produces, there isn't yet a clear picture of long-term safety.3 We go through that dose-response evidence in full in our melatonin evidence review.
This isn't new information we're surfacing for the first time — Sleep Support's own product page already flags the melatonin dose and recommends talking to a doctor before use. This post is meant to reinforce that, not soften it. If you're melatonin-sensitive, take other medications, or you've never used a dose this high, that's worth a conversation with your doctor before you start, not after you notice next-day grogginess. And don't stack it with Sleep Formula on the same night — that's 12mg of melatonin combined, roughly three times the studied peak. If you're weighing the two products against each other, we compare them directly here.
| Ingredient | Sleep Support label | Typically studied range (standalone) |
|---|---|---|
| Melatonin | 10mg (disclosed) | ~0.5–5mg for sleep onset; effect peaked at 4mg/day in meta-analysis1 |
| Magnesium (as citrate) | 13mg (disclosed) | Hundreds of mg daily in sleep and stress trials; our standalone product is 275mg elemental |
| Calcium / Vitamin B6 | 17mg / 1.8mg (disclosed) | B6 1.8mg is ~106% of the Daily Value reference; count it toward your total across all supplements |
| L-Theanine | Not disclosed (part of 905mg blend) | ~200–450mg in stress and sleep-quality trials |
| Chamomile | Not disclosed (part of 905mg blend) | 400mg/day in a sleep-quality trial; 1,500mg/day in the longest anxiety trial |
| Ashwagandha, GABA, 5-HTP, St. John's Wort | Not disclosed (part of 905mg blend) | All studied as standalone ingredients at doses that would each take up a large share of a 905mg total — see the linked evidence reviews |
The blend math doesn't work in most ingredients' favor
Here's the part we think matters most and gets glossed over most often in this industry: 905mg split across 14 ingredients averages out to about 65mg per ingredient if it were divided evenly. It almost certainly isn't divided evenly — proprietary blends are typically weighted toward whichever ingredients are cheapest, listed first, or most marketable — but even a generous, uneven split can't get most of these ingredients anywhere close to a full, typically-studied dose.
Look at the table above. L-theanine's stress and sleep trials commonly use 200–450mg of the ingredient alone. Chamomile's 28-day sleep-quality trial used 400mg a day, and its longest anxiety trial used 1,500mg a day — either figure is a large share of a 905mg total on its own. If any single ingredient in Sleep Support's blend is hitting one of those full research doses, it is taking up most of the blend, which mathematically leaves very little room for the other 13. The honest read is that most of the 14 ingredients in this blend are almost certainly present at sub-clinical amounts — meaningfully below the doses used in the human research behind them. The ingredient-by-ingredient evidence is worth reading on its own terms: we've covered chamomile, passion flower, lemon balm, L-tryptophan and GABA separately.
A 14-ingredient, 905mg blend can list an impressive panel on the box. It can't give most of those ingredients a dose that matches the research behind them — the math simply doesn't allow it.
The interaction risk that's worth taking seriously
Two ingredients in this blend carry real, documented interaction risks, and we want to say this plainly rather than bury it in fine print: St. John's Wort and 5-HTP can interact with birth control, blood thinners, antidepressants, epilepsy medication, migraine triptans and anti-rejection medications.
St. John's Wort is a potent inducer of liver enzymes that metabolize many prescription drugs, which can make those drugs less effective — including hormonal birth control and warfarin-type blood thinners.4 The most serious documented cases involve organ transplant recipients: St. John's Wort has been linked to acute transplant rejection by speeding the clearance of anti-rejection drugs like cyclosporine, including a published case of acute heart transplant rejection in the medical literature.5 Separately, combining St. John's Wort or 5-HTP with SSRIs or other serotonergic antidepressants can raise the risk of serotonin syndrome, a genuinely dangerous condition — this isn't theoretical, it's been documented in published case reports involving a 5-HTP supplement and a prescribed antidepressant.67 Our fuller write-ups on St. John's Wort and 5-HTP go through both the efficacy evidence and the risk in detail, and our guide to Proco products and mental-health medications covers what to raise with a prescriber.
If you're on hormonal birth control, a blood thinner, an antidepressant, epilepsy medication, a migraine triptan or an anti-rejection medication, this is not a "check with your doctor" formality — talk to your doctor before taking Sleep Support. This is already noted on the Sleep Support product page, and we're repeating it here because it's a genuine safety point, not a footnote.
Why we're publishing this about our own product
The industry norm is to say none of this. Most proprietary-blend labels give you a total weight and a list of ingredients in descending order, and stop there — no dose math, no acknowledgment that a 10mg melatonin dose sits well outside the studied range, no admission that the magnesium on the front of the box is 13mg, no flagging of interaction risk beyond the generic disclaimer everyone prints. We think that's the wrong standard, even when — especially when — the product in question is our own.
What we're not going to do is dress this up as a problem we're about to solve. We asked; the numbers aren't available to publish on this formula. So the honest position is a description, not a promise: here is what's disclosed, here is what isn't and won't be, here is where the dosing looks reasonable and where it doesn't — so you can make an informed call, and so your doctor can too. If full per-ingredient disclosure is what you want from a sleep product, Sleep Formula is the one in our range that has it.
Bottom line
Sleep Support works for a lot of people, and the individually-dosed ingredients on its label are exactly what they say they are — which is why it's worth knowing that one of them, magnesium, is 13mg. The honest picture also includes a melatonin dose above the typically-studied range, a 14-ingredient blend that can't plausibly deliver full research doses of most of its components and whose per-ingredient figures we can't publish, and two ingredients with real prescription-drug interaction risk. None of that means don't use it — it means use it with the same information your doctor would want you to have. If you'd rather start with a formula that discloses every dose individually, Sleep Formula is our alternative built around that standard, and for what the melatonin research shows in a specific population, see sleep difficulties in autism.
This article is for informational purposes only and has not been evaluated by the FDA. It is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. St. John’s Wort and 5-HTP can interact dangerously with birth control, blood thinners, antidepressants, epilepsy medication, migraine triptans and anti-rejection medications — speak with your doctor before combining this product with any medication.
References
- Cruz-Sanabria F, Bruno S, Crippa A, Frumento P, Scarselli M, Skene DJ, Faraguna U. "Optimizing the Time and Dose of Melatonin as a Sleep-Promoting Drug: A Systematic Review of Randomized Controlled Trials and Dose-Response Meta-Analysis." Journal of Pineal Research, 2024. doi:10.1111/jpi.12985
- Ferracioli-Oda E, Qawasmi A, Bloch MH. "Meta-Analysis: Melatonin for the Treatment of Primary Sleep Disorders." PLOS ONE, 2013. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0063773
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NIH). "Melatonin: What You Need To Know." nccih.nih.gov/health/melatonin-what-you-need-to-know
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NIH). "Herb-Drug Interactions: What the Science Says." nccih.nih.gov/health/providers/digest/herb-drug-interactions-science
- Ruschitzka F, Meier PJ, Turina M, Lüscher TF, Noll G. "Acute heart transplant rejection due to Saint John's wort." The Lancet, 2000. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/10683008
- Borrelli F, Izzo AA. Herb-drug interactions with St John's wort (Hypericum perforatum): an update on clinical observations. AAPS J. 2009. doi:10.1208/s12248-009-9146-8. See also Chrubasik-Hausmann S, Vlachojannis J, McLachlan AJ. Understanding drug interactions with St John's wort (Hypericum perforatum L.): impact of hyperforin content. J Pharm Pharmacol. 2019. doi:10.1111/jphp.12858
- Patel H, Marzella N. "Dietary Supplement-Drug Interaction-Induced Serotonin Syndrome Progressing to Acute Compartment Syndrome." American Journal of Case Reports, 2017. pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC5580516
Want to know what's actually in what you take? Join the list — no spam, just it straight.